Saturday, November 12, 2011

Courthouse wedding and reception day after...weird?

First of all, if it is just your fiance and you at the courthouse and you are not inviting any guests, then you are not doing anything wrong. What would be tacky is if you ask people to come see you get married anywhere and then do not have a reception afterward (meaning even some beverages and appetizers to say thanks for coming.) Now for this cookout, its perfectly acceptable to do this and I agree, it should be the day after your wedding or the next weekend. You need not call it a reception though, because it isn't. Your guests are not being received from anything. Instead you send informal party invitations NOT fancy wedding invites. You call it a Part/Cookout/BBQ Celebrating our Recent Marriage. If you want to register, that is fine but dont put it in any invation. I know many brides do and this is really poor etiquette. You provide that info when asked by friends or family. As for a Bridal Shower I find them all tacky and uncomfortable, so I am the wrong person to ask. I dont see a need for one if the couple lives together already. Ask her if she really wants to throw a party how about a housewarming down the road when you buy your first home.

No comments:

Post a Comment